January Wrap Up

January is already over? What? That doesn’t seem right?

I read quite a bit this month but it was mostly required reading for school. I didn’t like most of them so I’ll just mention them briefly.

Short Stories and Scripts I Read For School:

  1. Paul’s Case by Willa Cather (1/5 stars)
  2. A Private History of a Campaign That Failed by Mark Twain (1/5)
  3. A Pair of Silk Stockings by Kate Chopin (3/5)
  4. Young Goodman Brown (2/5)
  5. A Midsummer Nights Dream (4/5)

The first novel I finished this year was. . .

Call of The Wild

Surprisingly I enjoyed this book. It’s always nice when I like a book that I have to read for school. I don’t have much to say about it as I’m sure most people reading this know about Call of the Wild.

3/5

the first movie I watched this month was. . .

Taylor Swift’s Reputation Stadium Tour

I do not have the financial means to go to all the concerts I wish I could go to. That’s why I was pretty excited about seeing Taylor Swift’s Reputation tour on Netflix! I really enjoyed it! If you know me at all, you know what a big Swifty I am. I would watch pretty much anything with Taylor in it.

4/5

The next book I read was. . .

Assume The Worst

If you want a honest, bit pessimistic, graduation speech to actually prepare you for the future, I highly recommend Assume The Worst. Carl Hiaasen tells it how it is. While I don’t always agree with the rather depressing way he views the world, he did have many good points and I laughed out loud through the whole thing.

4/5

Next I watched. . .

Black Mirror: Bandersnatch

This was SO FUN. I love choose your own adventure stories, I read tons of them as a kid. But Ive never seen a TV show where you could decide what the character did. It was crazy. Like any Black Mirror episode, Bandersnatch was weird and trippy but very interesting. I highly recommend checking it out. Comment what ending you got.

5/5

the next book I read was. . .

Crazy Rich Asians

I watched the movie before I read this book and I really liked them both. But I definitely like the book better. I loved Rachel, she was for sure my favorite character. I felt like I learned so much about Singapore and Asian culture and it was all so interesting. CRA was a very cute RomCom and I highly recommend it.

4.5/5

 

Now You See Me

Now You See Me is a heist story with unexplainable tricks and an all star cast.

I don’t know how I hadn’t seen this movie before. I remember hearing about it but I never actually watched it. This month, me and my dad were looking for a movie to watch and we stumbled across this one. I LOVED it!! It was so much fun, fast paced, and funny.  I just wish we had gotten to know the characters a bit better instead of all the action. Other than that, it was a great movie and I plan to see Now You See Me 2 this month :).

4.5/5

Teen Wolf Season 2

I started watching Teen Wolf at the end of 2018 and it sucked me in. It is basically The Vampire Diaries but with werewolves so of course I’m going to love it.

Teen Wolf is basically exactly what it sounds like. A teenager who is a werewolf. I live for Dylan O’Brien’s character Stiles. He’s so funny and totally steals the show for me.

4/5

 

That’s everything I watched and read in January! I think my favorite thing was probably a tie between Bandersnatch and Now You See Me. What was your favorite thing you watched or read this month?

Thanks for reading!

❤ Hannah {Accounts of a Logophile}

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑